Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Endnote: Useful Features

How to remove duplicate citations

Once all databases have been searched, and records downloaded into EndNote (and a note made of the number of results retrieved from each database) you must identify and delete duplicate records.

To ensure that all duplicate records are identified and deleted:

Run the EndNote Find Duplicates command (available from within EndNote, via References > Find Duplicates).

By default EndNote will identify a record as a duplicate if it includes the same author/s, year of publication and title as another record within the Library.

After running the EndNote Find Duplicates command it is essential that you follow up with a manual check of your Library for duplicates.

Re-sort your Library Window alphabetically by title (click the Title column heading), then visually scan, identify and delete duplicated records.

Systematic Reviews

By nature, systematic reviews have a large set of records and it's essential to ensure that you don't accidentally remove any 'false' duplicates. Talk to your librarian about options for de-duplicating large sets of records, or use a method such as the one developed by Bramer et al. (2016).

Bramer, W. M., Giustini, D., de Jonge, G. B., Holland, L., & Bekhuis, T. (2016). De-duplication of database search results for systematic reviews in EndNote. Journal of the Medical Library Association : JMLA, 104(3), 240–243. https://doi.org/10.3163/1536-5050.104.3.014

Using acronyms in in-text citations

There are times when you need to use an organisation's acronym as part of the in-text citation, while still displaying the full name in the bibliography (e.g. World Health Organization [WHO])

The following link will take you to Federation University Libguide instructions on how to use acronyms in citations (TPCH Library recommends the 'Fix it as you write' method).

Attaching files to EndNote references

You can attach PDFs and other files to the references in your EndNote library:

Removing Endote field codes from Word

If you intend to submit your paper for publication, it’s advisable to remove the EndNote field codes from the document, as these are likely to interfere with the software used by the publisher.  It's also a good idea even if you're just giving it to a colleague or supervisor for a bit of editing.

To remove field codes, click on Convert Citations and Bibliography (in the Bibliography group on the EndNote tab of the ribbon in Word 2007+) and select Convert to Plain Text.

 

The following message will be displayed:

Click OK, and a copy of your original document, minus the EndNote field codes, will appear in a new unsaved document window.  Save this copy under a different file name.  This is the copy you should submit to the publisher, or anyone else who may be reviewing or editing your work for you.

Retain the original copy, which still contains the field codes, in case you need to make any modifications to it at a later stage.